Two for One: MCHS’ Class of 2020 finally gets its day in the sun


By Thomas Sellers Jr.

The 110th Millington Central High School Commencement will be one of the most memorable in the history of the institution.
A school with such a rich and long history held it’s first two-part graduation in compliance with the Tennessee Department of Education’s regulation during the COVID-19 pandemic. Friday afternoon and evening, the 184 MCHS student who met the requirements of Millington Municipal Schools to graduate participated in ceremonies in accordance with the social distancing guidelines set forth by the Tennessee Department of Education.
Originally set for May 14, the Class of 2020 finally got its day in the sun May 29 starting at 5 p.m. at Mooney Boswell Field for students with the last name A-K. Then exactly two hours and 15 minutes later, last names L-Z graduated under the direction of Millington Municipal Schools Superintendent James “Bo” Griffin, MCHS Principal Mark Neal, Vice Principal Ben Rollins and assistant principals Zane Adams and Beth Hale.
During the dual ceremonies, 2020 Class President Briana Fields, Valedictorian Geoffrey Warberg and Salutatorian Samarra Davis gave their speeches twice. The trio tried to keep the focus on the success and achievements of their peers. But they all touched on the coronavirus’ impact on the conclusion of the school year.
The effects of the virus was evident throughout the ceremony with chairs spaced a part, face mask worn and an hour to clean and disinfect the facility for students and guests.
Throughout all the precautions and extra measures, the students did get a chance to hear their names and walk across the stage. The Class of 2020 even had an opportunity to recognize two peers who have passed away with honorary diplomas for Cassy Colunga and Artez Moore.

The Class of 2020 graduating candidates are Janice Alvarez, Dominique Anderson, Timothy Andrews, Abraham Antunez, Lauren Bailey, Jaida Barney, James Barrrentine, Emmanuel Barrera, Marcos Barrera, Tyrice Bean, Deana Becerra, Laney Benson, Ambrienne Benton, William Bernard, Elizabeth Bethea, Saige Black, Johnnie Bolgeo, Sandrea Bonds, Joseph Bonucchi, Toyah Bowles, Aydreanna Boyd, Deleah Brown, Byruna Jeffries, Abagael Cales, Tabitha Callahan, Larson Cates, Christopher Caudle, Eduardo Cerezo, Rodrigo Chavez, Alicia Sky Clark, Arjasha Clark, Koby Clark, Thomas Clifton, Jalin Cole, Cassy Conlunga, Timothy Cook, Matthew Copeland, Quinn Cox, Blake Cranfill, Joshua Crawford, Jalen Dacus, Mikaila Davenport, Dorian Davis, Jena Davis, Samarra Davis, Jamie Dixon, Kristin Dogan, Danielle Dowell, Scott Drenning, Kelly Dunn, Corben Echlin, Christian Esquivel, Kapell Eugene, Jeremiah Eulls, Rommonique Exum, Ma Magdalena Fallorina, Nyla Farmer, Jacob Ferloni, Devin Ferrell, Briana Fields, Mathew Flachbart, Tyler Fleming, Markees Flowers, Cassidy Floyd, Jahan Frazier, Michael Frost, Jayla Gannaway, Carrington Garrett, Gracie Gelston, Ruby Gilbert, Devin Gooch, Delaney Grayson, Trinity Gross, Victor Gudino, Kenley Gurley, Elisha Gwyn, Cameron Haiely, Samuel Hall, Ariana Hammond-Jones, Joseph Hawkins, Christian Hernandez, Izaah Hibbler, Weston Hood, Ally Horne, Summer Horne, Omari House, Angela Jackson, Terrian Jackson, William Jackson, Ahli Jacobo, Bryuna Jeffries, Denisse Jimenez, Delmarious Jones, Sergio Juarez-Coronado, Aubrey Julian, Kelsey Kiburn, Raena Kimbrough, Tacoma Kolesar, Kennedy Lamar, Braeden Landes, Emily Landis, Cody Ledbetter, Jaylan Lewis, Kaveyon Lewis, Mya Lewis, William Lucas, Jaila Lurry, Caitlin Macdonald, Nia Macklin, Jacob Martin, Kae’Vaughn Martin, Dylan Matthews, Lilia Mattox, Emilie McCain, Martin McClellan, Jadarius McKnight, Untarieo McNeal, Marionte Meijer, Zane Mendoza, Natalie Mercier, Marvin Mesinos, Camryn Michael, Arlita Moore, Artez Moore, Dylan Moore, Blake Morin, Rashad Morris, Mufeed Morshid, Anahi Najera-Sanchez, Elyana Nichols, Joseph Nolen, Conor O’Brien, Jahmir O’Kain, Mauricio Ortiz, Tristen Douglas-Wade Paine, Bruce Palmer, Binoy Patel, Auston Patrick, Genevieve Payne, Mary Alexis Peerey, Miranda Peralta, Francisco Perez-Leyva Jr., Roberto Perez, Jessica Peterson, William Quinn, Anna Grace Raburn, Juliette Ragland, Leon Ramirez, Richard Ray, Daniel Rayo, Chloe Riegert, Sain Rodriguez, Madison Roe, Tyriek Ross, Seth Ruleman, Conor Sawyer, Matthew Sears, Drake Shepherd, Devin Smith, K’aaliyah Smith, Kaitlynn Smith, Kimberly Squire, Jhonae Swain, Darielle Taylor, William Terlecki, Remiello Thomas, William Thomason, Jaden Tincher, Lanette Travis, Josefin Trujillo, Jamiya Turner, Aeryn Uriell, Ella Vath, Maia Vath, Molinero Velazquez, Letavious Vester, Geoffrey Warberg, Jayden Warner, Trevor Warren, Janessah Watkins, Ciera Watson, Victoria Wheat, Taniyah Wherry, Thomas Wojcicki, Ashley Woodard, Amber Woody, Joseph Yahn, Natalie Yearwood, Johnathan Young, Miranda Young, Verdo Young and Frank Zapien.