NEWS ALERT- The Class of 2021 finally reunited for 111th MCHS Commencement


By Thomas Sellers Jr.

For the first time during the 2020-21 school year, the members of the Millington Central High School Class of 2021 were finally all together on the campus.

Since August the seniors had to navigate a new educational format of hybrid schedules or all virtual learning. The two options available during a global pandemic caused the typical senior year of prom, sporting events, after-school functions and other events to be the only chances for longtime classmates to see one another.

Finally Thursday night on the turf of Mooney Boswell Field, the 111th MCHS Commencement brought together 168 seniors to say hello and farewell. Under the direction of outgoing Principal Mark Neal and with the official recommendation of Millington Municipal Schools Superintendent James “Bo” Griffin those students were awarded their diplomas.

Prior to the Trojans walking across the stage to graduate, the students proceeded into the stadium under the sounds of Pomp and Circumstance played by Kreston Smith’s band. Then seniors Tre Dean and Allyson Marona delivered the National Anthem.

Past, present and a few future Trojans joined in the singing of the Alma Mater under the direction of Leah Thomas.

Class of 2021 president and No. 9 ranked student Gena Ann Parker welcomed those in attendance and then Neal recognized the special guest including the new high school principal Michael Perry.

Then it was time for the Salutatorian and Valedictorian speeches. Assistant Principal Zane Adams had the honors of presenting No. 2 ranked Dalton Fitzgerald. The Salutatorian delivered a speech letting him peers know it is time to grow up and get ready to walk through a door of the unknown into darkness. But they are equipped to find their way and take on all challenges.

Next to the microphone was Assistant Principal Beth Hale and she introduced Luis Carrillo Reyes. Reyes took a moment to reflect on his journey from Mexico to Millington. He thanked his parents for their sacrifice to him reach new heights including being accepted into Northwestern University.

Vice Principal Ben Rollins recognized the honors among the Class of 2021 and noted the students earned $6.1 million in scholarships.

Then Griffin and Neal had the honors of awarding the diplomas to Anthony Acquaye, Timmy Aderinoye, Angelica Alaniz, Christina Allen, Cory Atkins, Rachel Ballard, Marlon Barrentine, Damaris Bautista, Brandon Becton, Hailey Bernard, Chamerea Bills, Lonzell Blackwell Jr., Jadon Boles, Naomi Bosworth, Hayden Boykin, Stelffon Branch, Tyler Bryson, Jacob Burkeen, Reginald Caldwell, Chloe Carpenter, Luis Carrillo Reyes, Jonas Carter, Atziry Castro, Elijah Caswell, Taliyah Chalmers, John Chavez, Emily Cisneros, Madelyn Clifton, Lillian Cline, Joshua Coates, Corey Coburn, Savannah Colbert, Mark Colon, Sara Cooper, Turner Courntey, Jazmin Cranfill, Juwan Curry, Bronwen Davis, Kayla Dawson, Tre Dean, Kera Dent, Henry Dickson, Anna Dietz, Adrian Dowell, Jalen Dyson, Rayshon Edgeston, Caleb Escue, Kimberley Nicole Escue, Justin Eugene, Diana Fallorina, Jayce Fiene, Dalton Fitzgerald, Demonte Fleming, Leonardo Flores, Dalton Ford, Nadalynn Forrest, Tia Frazier, Tevian Gales, Israel Galindo, Andres Garcia, Thomas Gardner, Katie Garner, John Gary, Brea Gaston, Tameka Gatewood, Ruth Gilley, Colby Goode, Jeb Haley, Jaden Harmon, Perry Harrold, Drew Hasenberg, Christopher Henderson, Julio Hernandez, Sergio Hernandez Jr., Courtney Marie Lyn Holmes, Madelyn Horn, Lauren Horton, Ann Howard, Salome Hudson, Anthony Huffer, Nicholas Hutcheson, Philip Isaacs, Zachary James, Walter Jefferson, Lilian Johnson, Alexis Jordan, Tyler Jordan, Abbie Joyner, Alia Kennedy, Logan Kidwell, Allison Kiefer, Amy Kincaid, Devin Knight, David Lark, Ethan Laughlin, Kemareyon Lewis, Damion Littlejohn, Gabriel Malone, Allyson Marona, Dakota Matthews, Lillian Matthews, Kaitlynn McDonald, Trevor Meadows, Cameron Miggins-McDonald, Christian Miller, Gavin Mills, Kimberly Mireles, Gavin Moore, Jasmine Moore, Noah Moss, Morgan Murphy, Joseph Nutzell, Jack O’Connor, Jackson Orman, Robert Oszaniec, Shulisha Page, Bryan Parham, Gena Ann Parker, Macy Patterson, Wesley Percer, Edwin Perkins III, Mya Perry, Tri-Hoang-Anh Phung, Jamara Pierre, Caleb Plunk, Brandon Porter, Jackson Powell, Selena Price, Kylie Privett, Breanna Pryor, Aaron Ransom, Lydia Reeder, Elijah Roberts, Casey Robinson, Gaspar Rodriguez, Caleb Rotenberry, Mario Ruiz, Emily Saigeon, Abisai Sauceda, Steven Shappley, Theresa Sharp, Abraham Sigmon, Averianna Smith, Hunter Smith, Maliyah Smith, Ema-Leigh Stafford, Nakeria Janae Starks, Jacob Stokes, Jason Sumrell, Arielle Tate, Keyanna Thames, William Theuns, Cartashia Threlkeld, Joseph Tramontozzi, Donovan Trotter, Fabiola Alexjandra Villa Rodriguez, Reginald Wall Jr., Karlton Wallace, Daniel Warren, Emoni Watkins, Alivia Watson, Marli Watson, Daniel White, Kenji White, Stephan Wilson, Kenzie Withers, Malik Wooten, Brandon Worthington, Erica Wright, Sethren Wright, Milton Yarbrough and Daniel Young.