One newly elected, three re-elected School Board members get sworn in

Millington Mayor Terry Jones reads the oaths last week to four of seven Millington School Board members from left Marlon Evans, Mark Coulter, Barbara Halliburton and Chris Denson.

By Bill Short

One newly elected and three re-elected Millington School Board members were sworn in to new terms on Dec. 1 in the Performing Arts Center.
With Mayor Terry Jones administering the Oath of Office, Marlon Evans, Mark Coulter, Barbara Halliburton and Chris Denson vowed to support the U.S. and Tennessee Constitutions and statutes, and to “faithfully execute” the office to which they were elected.
In Millington’s two contested school board races on Nov. 3, Evans was elected to a first term, while Coulter was re-elected to a second one.
Evans defeated former board member Greg Ritter for the open Position 1 seat after Roger Christopher chose not to seek a second term. 
Coulter defeated Deanna Speight to retain his Position 3 seat.
Halliburton and Denson were both unopposed – she for a four-year term in Position 5 and he for a second term in Position 7.
A 1983 graduate of Lakeside High School in Lake Village, Ark., Evans attended The University of Arkansas at Monticello from 1983-85. He is currently employed as a Shelby County sheriff’s deputy.
In November 2018, Evans ran unsuccessfully for school board Position 2, when C. J. Haley was re-elected to a third term.
Educated in the Millington schools, Coulter is co-owner of ParCou. He is a member of the Millington Area Chamber of Commerce and a referee with the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association.
Coulter was initially elected in 2016 when he defeated Rosie Crawford for the open Position 3 seat then occupied by Chuck Hurt Jr., who chose not to seek a second term.
Halliburton earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in marketing at Indiana University. She is currently employed as a senior analyst at FedEx Corp.
In February 2018, the Millington Board of Mayor and Aldermen appointed Halliburton to fill the vacancy created in school board Position 5 after Ronnie Mackin resigned to open an insurance agency in Sevierville.
She was initially elected in November 2018 to serve during the remainder of Mackin’s unexpired term, which ended on Dec. 1.
A graduate of Overton High School, Denson completed studies at Baptist College of Health Science and earned a Bachelor of Business Administration Degree at Columbus University in Louisiana.
A registered X-ray technician, he is employed as director of Professional Services for Fujifilm Medical Systems USA.
In November 2016, Denson was the unopposed candidate for the open school board Position 7 seat then occupied by Donald Holsinger, who ran unsuccessfully for alderman.